Forum Index > Gear Talk > Issues with Gaia
Previous :: Next Topic  
Author Message
dave allyn
Member
Member


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 265 | TRs

dave allyn
Member
PostTue Apr 17, 2018 8:50 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
I have found an issue with entering waypoints manually with the Gaia app on my phone. If I enter coordinates in
NAD27 and UTM and save them they are changed when I retrieve them from the saved file. 5 meters on the easting and 225 on the northing. Same thing with UTM and WGS84, only changed by about 5 meters each way. I emailed Gaia, they were already looking into it. I haven't got a fix back yet and it's been about a month.
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
wildernessed
viewbagger



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 9211 | TRs
Location: Wenatchee
wildernessed
viewbagger
PostWed Apr 18, 2018 7:32 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
Gaia also lags in it’s positioning and the mileage / elevation is off considerably. Steve and I did some early loops we have done before and it didn’t seem right so I carried my Garmin 60 Cxs and Gaia running them simultaneously and Gaia was off in mileage and elevation vs GTM and Garmin. I think Garmin actually measures your position and calculates your stats while Gaia tracks your position and calculates your stats based on the map alone. For using waypoints it has done a good job but off up to 1000’ and 1.5 miles in cases of off trail undulating terrain on trips we have previously done with documented mileage and elevation.

--------------
Living in the Anthropocene
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Visit poster's website Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
DIYSteve
mere tourist



Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 12300 | TRs
Location: here now
DIYSteve
mere tourist
PostWed Apr 18, 2018 9:37 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
I've occasionally gotten some whacky readings with Gaia, although it's been functionally accurate 95%+ of the time. The whackiness seems random, although maybe I've just not figured it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
Navy salad
Member
Member


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 1446 | TRs
Location: Woodinville
Navy salad
Member
PostWed Apr 18, 2018 12:56 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
I've also gotten whacko readings, generally associated with poor satellite reception or being in an area with a lot of reflected signals; but (with my Garmin gps) occasionally just because location has drifted due to an accumulating error problem with the GPS. In every case of this drift, turning the gps off and on has corrected it.

{It's amazing how many problems can be corrected by the old power-off/on fix!}
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
hbb
Member
Member


Joined: 06 Aug 2009
Posts: 146 | TRs

hbb
Member
PostFri Apr 20, 2018 11:43 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
What phone are you using? Sometimes you can get some weirdness when a phone's location services uses a different datum than the app. Iphones are on WGS84, I believe.

Have you tried entering coordinates in a lat/long format? I realize there's likely a reason you are using UTM, but it's possible you'd get different results in lat/long, which might shed some light on the issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
Robyn_GaiaGPS
Gaia_GPS



Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 4 | TRs

Robyn_GaiaGPS
Gaia_GPS
PostThu Apr 26, 2018 4:26 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
Hi there, Robyn here from Gaia GPS

We have an open bug report for the issue with using UTM coordinates in the NAD27 datum. Dave, I think you may have talked with Nathan via email about that. Also FYI, we recently hired two software engineers, one to largely focus on Android.

Regarding comparing track distances to a Garmin:

Gaia GPS calculates your distance traveled based on your recorded GPS points. The app records a point everytime it detects you've moved 2 meters, and then averages out the last 10 points to throw out any bad ones.

Typically you should find that Gaia GPS records similar distances to your Garmin, although the Garmin accuracy will likely be slightly better. If you're getting readings in Gaia that are far off from what your Garmin records, please feel free to message support (support@gaiagps.com) and we can troubleshoot.

Also, a quick tip if you have an Android device: you can also adjust your phones location services settings to “Device Only” or “GPS only” to improve the accuracy of your GPS data.

If you only see track recording errors occasionally:

Sometimes errors in GPS data is inevitable, especially when you are in locations with week satellite reception or other obstructions. This can also cause the app to lag in finding your position.

GPS signals have lots of random drift in the elevation that we have to try and account for when calculating track stats. Gaia GPS uses an algorithm to remove inaccurate points and applies a filter to average readings as you travel.

Often this leads to a more accurate reading compared to programs that do not filter data points.

We wrote a great article about factors that affect the GPS data your device is pulling in our help center. Feel free to check it out here: https://help.gaiagps.com/hc/en-us/articles/115003524167-Why-GPS-Track-Recording-Can-Be-Inaccurate

--------------
Keep Exploring,
Robyn
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Visit poster's website Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
DigitalJanitor
Dirt hippie



Joined: 20 May 2012
Posts: 565 | TRs

DigitalJanitor
Dirt hippie
PostFri Apr 27, 2018 12:49 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
Robyn_GaiaGPS wrote:
Also, a quick tip if you have an Android device: you can also adjust your phones location services settings to “Device Only” or “GPS only” to improve the accuracy of your GPS data.

Thanks for this tidbit, gonna try it this afternoon!  up.gif

--------------
~Mom jeans on wheels
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
xman_reborn
Member
Member


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 43 | TRs

xman_reborn
Member
PostSat Apr 28, 2018 10:52 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
Robyn from Gaia - is Gaia going to move away from the subscription business model? Because that is what is keeping me from using this software. It's not worth it to me. I'm willing to pay for the software.
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
Robyn_GaiaGPS
Gaia_GPS



Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 4 | TRs

Robyn_GaiaGPS
Gaia_GPS
PostWed May 02, 2018 8:16 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
xman_reborn wrote:
Robyn from Gaia - is Gaia going to move away from the subscription business model? Because that is what is keeping me from using this software. It's not worth it to me. I'm willing to pay for the software.

Hi xman_reborn,

We do offer a 5-year license if you aren't interested in paying yearly. You can see all of the Membership options (at a discount) here: https://www.gaiagps.com/web_discounts/

We believe a subscription model makes the app and company sustainable, long-term. Gaia GPS requires continuous effort to develop and maintain. Also, we have to keep up with growing expenses for map licensing, servers, and user support.

--------------
Keep Exploring,
Robyn
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Visit poster's website Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
Schroder
Member
Member


Joined: 26 Oct 2007
Posts: 5174 | TRs
Location: on the beach
Schroder
Member
PostSun Jun 10, 2018 4:59 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
I bought the original app for $10 on Google Play.  When my phone died and I started up the replacement I discovered now that I have to pay a subscription.  Sorry, but an annual payment is not worth it to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
Robyn_GaiaGPS
Gaia_GPS



Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 4 | TRs

Robyn_GaiaGPS
Gaia_GPS
PostTue Jun 12, 2018 8:16 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
Schroder wrote:
I bought the original app for $10 on Google Play.  When my phone died and I started up the replacement I discovered now that I have to pay a subscription.  Sorry, but an annual payment is not worth it to me.

@Schroder Thanks for your continued use of Gaia GPS. Since you purchased the app before it was subscription based, your account should be grandfathered-in to a legacy Membership.

If you're having trouble with that, can you send a message to support@gaiagps.com so we can troubleshoot?

--------------
Keep Exploring,
Robyn
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Visit poster's website Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
RobinBaker
Member
Member


Joined: 18 May 2018
Posts: 5 | TRs
Location: Beaverton, OR
RobinBaker
Member
PostThu Jun 21, 2018 7:36 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
DigitalJanitor wrote:
Robyn_GaiaGPS wrote:
Also, a quick tip if you have an Android device: you can also adjust your phones location services settings to “Device Only” or “GPS only” to improve the accuracy of your GPS data.

Thanks for this tidbit, gonna try it this afternoon!  up.gif

When I did this, my photos didn't have any location data. This was on a Samsung Galaxy S7 with Android 7.
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
Alpine Pedestrian
Member
Member


Joined: 24 May 2007
Posts: 146 | TRs
Location: Stevens Pass
Alpine Pedestrian
Member
PostThu Jun 21, 2018 8:48 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
Schroder wrote:
Sorry, but an annual payment is not worth it to me.

Recently a friend and I were hiking in an area where we realized we were off route on our way back to the car.  I had Gaia tracking on, was able to see the yellow "carrot" showing us where we actually were and could see the tracking showing where we should have been.  We changed course to get back onto the correct route.  As the yellow "carrot" guided us back to where we should be, I told my hiking friend whatever Gaia wanted to charge me for a subscription, I would pay it.  A day or two later I found the $48 for 5 years deal and gladly paid it.
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
Robyn_GaiaGPS
Gaia_GPS



Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 4 | TRs

Robyn_GaiaGPS
Gaia_GPS
PostMon Jun 25, 2018 8:07 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
RobinBaker wrote:
When I did this, my photos didn't have any location data. This was on a Samsung Galaxy S7 with Android 7.

@RobinBaker I'm sorry you are having issues with your photos. Please write to support@gaiagps.com and we can take a closer look at what is going on.

--------------
Keep Exploring,
Robyn
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Visit poster's website Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
DigitalJanitor
Dirt hippie



Joined: 20 May 2012
Posts: 565 | TRs

DigitalJanitor
Dirt hippie
PostMon Jun 25, 2018 5:01 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
RobinBaker wrote:
When I did this, my photos didn't have any location data. This was on a Samsung Galaxy S7 with Android 7.

LOL... I'd consider this a feature rather than a bug!

--------------
~Mom jeans on wheels
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
  Display:     All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Forum Index > Gear Talk > Issues with Gaia
  Happy Birthday hopalong, Mount Logan, Solo Steve!
Jump to:   
Search this topic:

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
   Use Disclaimer Powered by phpBB Privacy Policy