Forum Index > Trip Reports > Granite Mtn - Denny Crk
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
El Puma

El Puma
PostSun Nov 24, 2002 9:21 pm 
Thanks to everyone for all the new ideas I’ve read here! I’m a bit new to this process and not sure about the etiquette of posting “long past” trips, but since reading Sundance Kid’s likewise outdated description, I thought I’d jump in as well! On 18 October, two of us took the standard route to Granite Mountain. The end of the blueberry season was in progress, and lots of them had progressed to a “Spaetlese” quality (for those dessert wine experts among you). An interesting side note: As we picked two Nalgene bottles full, THREE parties passed us by – lamenting how it was too bad they were too late in the year to get any berries! We agreed with them, smiling with purple lips and tongues as we did… I have done pretty extensive backcountry traveling in the Snoqualmie area and am always on the lookout for new adventures (hence my foray into this website). One of which was the direct descent from Granite Mtn to Denny Creek via Crystal and Denny Lake. Due to daylight constraints we skipped Crystal. Followed down the main trail about 1/4 mile. There are lots of little branches leading north; we found one that extended longer than the others but petered out soon as well. Using previously determined ridgetop features as navigational aids, we traversed/descended on the E-slope of a draw which ended up in a gorgeous little platform with flat bedrock and the beginning of a little creek which flows NE into Denny Lake’s main contributor. Fall colors were spectacular – I’ll definitely be back to camp here! Followed said draw down to the lake. Beautiful, partly pretty narrow canyon. Had to exit once or twice to circumnavigate drops. Some light bushwhacking to the lake, BW1 as defined by Mark Dale in: http://www.alpenglow.org/themes/subalpine/brush-ratings.html The lake itself was nice. Few places to camp though. And be sure not to attempt a de