Forum Index > Photography Talk > Digital Backup & Recovery
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
MCaver
Founder

MCaver
Founder
PostMon Nov 10, 2003 9:08 pm 
Anyone have experneice with lightweight recovery mechanisms? I'm thinking more of parity and recovery files than things like tape backup systems of CDs. I've been thinking that burning my photos to CD would be a lot more resilient if I had data recovery mechanisms built in on the CD itself (and a backup CD copy of course). I have some experience with parity files, but the software for creating them doesn't seem to like subdirectories, with I make extensive use of. I'd hate to have to make parity files for every directory! I've tried both SmartPar and QuickPar. Anyone have any expereince or suggestions in this area?

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
MCaver
Founder

MCaver
Founder
PostMon Nov 10, 2003 10:31 pm 
If anyone cares tongue.gif I'm thinking of using PAR2 to create recovery files for each subdirectory of my photos, breaking them into 700Mb chunks and burning them to CDs, recovery records and all. Eventually I'd like to end up with 2 archive hard drives (one off site) and maybe a CD copy somewhere for easy use. For now, 2 CDs and a hard drive. Anyone shoot holes in this plan? The recovery files take up an additional 10% of space, but it's worth it for the protection.

MCaver
Founder

MCaver
Founder
PostMon Nov 10, 2003 10:34 pm 
Eeks! I have 14,671 photos, taking up 30Gb! eek.gif

Tom
Admin

Tom
Admin
PostMon Nov 10, 2003 10:50 pm 
Wouldn't DVD be a better backup option? DVD burners are getting reasonably cheap at a little over $100 AR and I think the extra space / less hassle would be worth it. My computer came with a DVD+RW burner but I've been to lazy to get everything organized and backup my HD. The parity recovery files seem like a good idea. For now I got a 160 GB hard drive for $75 which is my primary backup.

MCaver
Founder

MCaver
Founder