Forum Index > Photography Talk > About to buy a digital camera - suggestions?
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
McFarnell
Web Developer

McFarnell
Web Developer
PostWed Jul 28, 2004 11:32 pm 
Hi everyone, I'm looking into buying a digital camera soon and was wondering if any of you might be able to point me in the right direction. I'm new to all this stuff so if you have time to explain a bit that would be great. Here's what I want to do with the camera:
  • Take pictures of scenery, mountains (maybe panoramics)
  • Take pictures inside of caves
  • Take close ups of flowers, etc.
  • Basically take pictures of anything.
  • Print at least 8.5 x 11 high quality (4MP?)
  • Point-n-shoot but also have lots of manual options
I'm wondering what kind of shutter options I'll need for the best caving pictures. Is 15s long enough, or do I need a bulb option? What kind of flash range do I need? Should I get a camera with a hot shoe? With a camera without a hot shoe, can't you still use some kind of slave flash or something? What's needed to take pictures of stars (I know, there is a more technical word, but I don't know what it is). I'm thinking about getting 4MP or more as I want to print at least 8.5 x 11. Cameras I'm currently looking at are Canon A80, Canon s500, Canon s60, Canon G5, and Coolpix 8700. Do you have any other suggestions? Not sure if I want 8MP as that would fill up my memory and hard drive like crazy. Things I'm looking at are size, shutter speed, start-up-time, lens, flash range, voice memo, etc. Can't decide between small or large camera. I like the sivel LCDs that some cameras have for self portraits. What type of battery is best? What type of media? Where can I get good deals? Lots of options. Hard to make a decision. Prices always dropping, too. Let me know if you have any advice. Any ideas or comments welcome. Thank you.

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
Tom
Admin

Tom
Admin
PostThu Jul 29, 2004 12:09 am