Forum Index > Trip Reports > mt. daniel - 2008-09-07
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
iron

iron
PostMon Sep 08, 2008 10:09 pm 
full disclosure: i'm still new to the mountaineering world. consequently, my descriptions will likely vary from what your interpretations are. hence, i try to have more photos than text... okay, so i heard some good things about daniel and that it should be well within my grasp given my current skillset (<1 year of actually exploring the mountains as opposed to dayhikes to lakes and such). my buddy hollywood (NWH: b00) thought that since i liked exercise, this would be a fun trip. i didn't research much at all. i glanced at the 75 scrambles in WA book for trailhead directions, looked at the pics justus posted in their recent TR, and talked to my friend mary (aka the little dripper) who had done the trip about a month earlier. 3 sources of info = confusion. plus, since i'm semi new to route finding, things were bound to go haywire. got to the trailhead - check. off to a good start. the bad thing was it was nearly 10a. that's not a good time to start when you're dayhiking something you don't have a clue about. found the trail - check. so far so good.
trailhead
trailhead
well-maintained trail
well-maintained trail
small pond before pass
small pond before pass
made it to peggy's pond in 1.5 hours after talking with my new friend sam for about 15 minutes. he said the route was easy to find, so i felt confident going it alone.
trail junction leading down to peggy's pond
trail junction leading down to peggy's pond
deep lake
deep lake
peggy's pond with cathedral rock
peggy's pond with cathedral rock