Forum Index > Trip Reports > Tolmie Peak Moonrise/Sunset 8.5.09
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Hesman

Hesman
PostThu Aug 06, 2009 2:53 pm 
With everyone I tried to get to go with me on this hike having bailed or coming up with some lame excuse not to come ( mad.gif ); I was able to talk my folks in coming with me. They did not go with me to Spray Park earlier in the day, only meeting up with me at the Mowich Lake Campground a bit after 2:30 in the afternoon. They set up their tent and we had a bite to eat before beginning the walk to Tolmie Peak. Going to Tolmie Peak to watch the full moon rise over the northern flanks of Mt. Rainier and to watch the sun set over the Puget Sound and the Olympics is something I have been doing for the last 6 years. The main point is to go on the day that the moon is full, otherwise there isn't really a point in going. This year the moon rose and the sun set at dang near the same time. We began hiking at about 5:00 and walked the trail along Mowich Lake towards Tolmie Peak. On the way we stopped at Ipsut Pass and the mosquitoes found us right away. But, I had noticed that the breeze I had encountered earlier in the day had picked up a little. This gave me hope that it would be keeping the mosquitoes away once we reached the fire lookout on Tolmie. Upon arriving at Tolmie, there was a steady cold breeze blowing and no bugs. We had arrived about an hour and a half before the moon was to rise and the sun was to set. So, we walked to the north summit of Tolmie to check that out. We saw two people show up at the lookout and I thought they might be staying for the moon rise and the sun set. But, they were just out for a late evening walk. We all arrived back at the lookout in time to start watching the sun sink below a band of clouds. I knew the moon was to start rising a few minutes after 8:30 and it began to show itself at 8:40 with a ever so slight sliver of gold. Sadly, I didn't have my camera on the right setting, so I didn't