Forum Index > Trip Reports > No Grapes on Grapevine Mtn., 03.02.13
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Bloated Chipmunk
Cock Rock Searcher

Bloated Chipmunk
Cock Rock Searcher
PostMon Mar 04, 2013 9:45 pm 
Last Sat. I took my group to Grapevine Mtn. in Anza-Borrego for a mix of on- & off-trail hiking in desert country. Everything I'd read about this pk. had warned of an abundance of cholla, so we came prepared. winksmile.gif This pk. is included in @ least a couple of major hiking guides, but they all describe what seem to be a longer, more tedious route than necessary. Instead of coming up/going down washes on the mtn.'s east & north sides, I studied maps & decided that we could take the PCT on the mtn.'s west side until we reach a major drainage, then head up a pretty direct route all the way to the summit. up.gif After a delayed start b/c Yours Truly forgot the hiking boots, doh.gif banghead.gif irked.gif doh.gif , we arrived @ the unofficial trailhead @ Scissors Xing about 9:30. The hike started w/5 of us:
4 SSMFs are ready to go!
4 SSMFs are ready to go!
We had to go XC to reach the PCT, which was only a matter of minutes. It was a warm day already, & I was quickly shedding the layers. redface.gif
Granite Mtn. as seen from near the TH
Granite Mtn. as seen from near the TH
Cacti
Cacti
Deep canyons
Deep canyons
This part is easy
This part is easy
Barrel cacti
Barrel cacti
The PCT had a generous amount of switchbacks & in some places seemed to be a bit of an overkill. confused.gif But, it was still a quick walk & the trail was well maintained. Before too long, the mother-son team in our group had to turn back due to post-root canal pain. frown.gif So, it was once again back to the usual 3 SSMFs. MM & I frequently compared my map w/his GPS in order to pick the correct wash to leave the trail. It was fairly easy to spot as it was the 1st big bend the trail makes to the east as it crosses this larger drainage.
Leaving the PCT & heading up a wash toward the pk.