Forum Index > Trip Reports > Anderson, O'Neil, LaCrosse Pass Loop 9.3-9.8.2013
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Hesman

Hesman
PostTue Sep 10, 2013 9:03 pm 
A bit of an introduction: the Anderson, O’Neil and LaCrosse Pass loop is a hike I have been eyeballing to accomplish for about 12 years. I’d also be hiking a trail I had yet to hike on: the O’Neil Pass Trail between the East Fork Quinault Trail and Marmot Lake on the Duckabush. I made an attempt about three years ago, but wasn’t able to complete it due to painful foot problems. Since then, the hike has been on the front burner bubbling over, with the need to be completed. I was able to cobble together a day and a half of paid comp time and two paid days off from work, attached to my weekend to give me five and a half days of hiking time. I would be pretty much be walking the entire time in order to complete the hike. I had wanted at least 6 or 7 full days of hiking so I could take my time, but I wasn’t about to get more paid time off from work and since I don’t have that big of an income, I couldn’t afford to take leave without pay to have more time to do the hike. I knew that I’d most likely have some wet weather for part of the hike and little did I know that on September 5th that a massive rainstorm and lightning storm would move through the Puget Sound Region. This storm missed me by a couple of miles and I had quite the lightning show for a couple of hours with minimal rain. This storm caused a couple of people to wonder about my well being. When I returned to civilization, there was a message on my cell phone from my boss wondering if I was still alive and safe. Secondly, the storm made my dad hike in to find me to make sure that I hadn’t floated away, became a drowned rat or if I might need a dry pair of socks. Also, on this hike, I saw more people out hiking than I have ever seen on a hike: 45 people. With that, lets get the show on the road. Day One: 9.3.2013, Trailhead to Dose Forks I started up