Forum Index > Partners > Volunteer logout Tr#749. Castle Pass aka Three Fools Ck
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
wolffie

wolffie
PostMon May 19, 2014 11:36 am 
Volunteer position for a certified sawyer. Trying to organize a small crew (2,4,6 max) to log out the blowdown on Tr#749 east of Ross Lake to Castle Pass and the PCT. A number of people are interested. This is not a rogue operation; a USFS guy at Methow is supportive. I'm new to this and want to jump through all the hoops and keep the lawyers happy. The smaller the crew, the less paperwork for USFS. A certified sawyer (with a saw) would help our cred. There IS some "big stuff" requiring a real saw, but mostly it's lodgepoles <8-10"; stuff you can do with a good Corona pruning saw. Hundreds of them, literally. BYOS. This is east of Lightning Ck campsite on Ross Lake; east of Nightmare Camp shelter; starts at the NRA boundary; blowdown is thick all the way to treeline above Elbow Basin, maybe 4+ miles. Google Maps view of trail section roughly, it's everything S of Skagit Pk, and not quite up the the ridge crest. Water taxi is $210 RT (by the trip, not by the head), 6 people max; would be nice to split that (and gas) 4 ways at least. 2 motivated people could do it (4-5 days total?); 4 would be quicker; 6 would be easy. Conceivably, some could backpack out via PCT or Devil's Ridge. A day or two off to prowl the high country would be nice; it's lovely. Date is speculative. Prolly dry, hot, Bug Hell in July-Aug -- somebody will get stung -- but I'm game for that. Save Sept for better things? Dunno. PM me.
Tr#749 9/5/12.  Blowdown near Little Fish Shelter.
Tr#749 9/5/12. Blowdown near Little Fish Shelter.
Joker Mt. summit.
Joker Mt. summit.
Looking  SE from Tr#749.  Woody Pass dead center.  The big peak is 3 Fools.  Lakeview Ridge to left.  Powder Mt. & Shull Mt. to right.
Looking SE from Tr#749. Woody Pass dead center. The big peak is 3 Fools. Lakeview Ridge to left. Powder Mt. & Shull Mt. to right.