Forum Index > Full Moon Saloon > How far can you drive E?
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Brucester

Brucester
PostSun May 22, 2016 10:32 pm 
Today while headed back from a drive in the mountains I was too busy rocking out to notice where the fuel gage was. My car gets over 38 mpg so I wasn't worried. Wasn't worried even as I passed the construction ahead sign and the "expect delays" sign on I90 westbound after Bellevue. At a stand still for a half hour I noticed the blinking E light. Then I was worried. How long had it been on and how long did I have before running out of gas? The traffic was epic, I thought there'd be no way I'd make it because the construction detour had us on the express lanes. I studied that blinking light. At one point it stopped and held one bar and then two. Turned up the music thinking there was some sort of reserve tank somewhere. Nope, minutes later back to one blinking bar. Sinking feeling again on the floating bridge of all places. That bridge seemed like 50 miles long today. Crawling along, not mad at the gridlock, just worried that I'd run out. My car's fuel injected so running out might be a big deal, there was that worry about too. Traffic was creeping west and my eyes were on that blinking light. What was I thinking? I turned down the music as if that'd help. Nothing seemed to matter accept getting to Rainier Ave and that Shell Station. No luck that exit was closed. I was really sweating bullets by that time sitting in traffic for maybe an hour past Bellevue? And then as the lanes opened up and I gingerly pressed the gas pedal. Minutes seemed like hours. Somehow, some way I made it to the station. I was never so happy to get gas. I even washed my car afterwards thinking my car would forgive me. Crazy experience because I always think ahead and keep the tank at a safe level. Another lesson learned and there to remind me.... How about you, you live on the edge or keep it topped off?