Forum Index > Full Moon Saloon > Genealogy is really interesting
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
cartman

cartman
PostWed Nov 16, 2016 10:03 am 
Due to a letter written from my mother's grandmother in 1943 which provided an essential link to my ancestors back to my 4x great grandmother Sylvia Delano, I've been able to do some research on WikiTree and other sites, such as Ancestry.com, geni.com, findagrave.com and elsewhere. Just with that one line I've been able to trace my ancestry as a direct descendent of at least 11 Mayflower passengers, as well as cousin (i.e., a common direct ancestor) to at least 5 former Presidents of the United States. Famouskin.com is a great resource to see who an ancestor of yours is related to. I'm just learning the ropes for tracing ancestry, so if others have tips and info to share, chime in.

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
Schroder

Schroder
PostWed Nov 16, 2016 1:08 pm 
Yes, if you find a connection to one Mayflower passenger it's likely you'll find it to many others. Not a lot of outside marriage choices back then. My wife's family came from Maine and I've found similar results for her. A word of caution - there's a ton of inaccurate information on those websites, particularly with Wikitree. Look at the reference sources carefully and verify them whenever possible. I used to have my tree on Ancestry.com since they first began, until the last major format change they did. I spent half my research time contacting people who grabbed people from my tree and inserted them into totally unrelated families. I've been researching since 1978, when I started digging up my family roots in Norwegian Church records.

Ski
><((((°>

Ski
><((((°>
PostWed Nov 16, 2016 3:20 pm 
Schroder wrote:
"... there's a ton of inaccurate information on those websites..."