Forum Index > Trip Reports > Welcome Pass Ski - 3/31/18
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
geyer

geyer
PostSun Apr 01, 2018 1:00 pm 
Dates: March 31, 2018 Distance: 8 miles Accum. Elevation Gain: 4600' (3700' w/o our lone ski lap) Total Humans Seen: 2 (and we knew them!) Eve's been raving about Welcome Pass and/or Oakes ever since Matt posted about them earlier in the season, so we had to take a crack at least one of them before spring conditions allowed us do bigger (and possible better?) things. Only caveat was that we wanted to do it on skis, since I'm a relative BC newbie and Eve doesn't really do snowshoes... If you're wondering why you've never heard of anyone ski Welcome Pass before, that's because it is definitely a snowshoe route. Undoubtedly. But with these snow conditions, I can see even snowshoeing being a total bane. The approach was not fun.
AFter a little bit of road walk/skinning, we hit the trailhead
AFter a little bit of road walk/skinning, we hit the trailhead
skinning through the trees did not last long until we booted up the rest of the way. Crotch-deep postholing is fun, right?
skinning through the trees did not last long until we booted up the rest of the way. Crotch-deep postholing is fun, right?