Forum Index > Trip Reports > Pk. 5,958' Loop: Forest, Meadows, & Desert Views on my bday; 09.04.18
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Bloated Chipmunk
Cock Rock Searcher

Bloated Chipmunk
Cock Rock Searcher
PostFri Oct 12, 2018 1:55 pm 
This day hike was a precursor to the real bday trip to come, a multi-day adventure in Yosemite (stay tuned for TR!). Since my bday always occurs on or near LDW, I saved Yosemite for just after the holiday wknd. as to avoid the crowds...or @ least as much as one can expect to avoid the masses in a very popular natl. park. wink.gif I studied the map the night before & concocted a plan to link several trails together in order to knock out a pk. I hadn't been up before, as well as get a mix of desert views, forested areas, & meadows. This hike is best done on a weekday as parts of the Mt. Laguna area can get quite busy on the weekends as people seek areas w/shade. cool.gif I parked @ the Storm Canyon overlook platform, snapping a couple pics before setting off.
Storm Canyon
Storm Canyon
I dropped below the platform to pick up the PCT & turned south.
Looking back @ the parking area & viewing platform
Looking back @ the parking area & viewing platform
On the PCT
On the PCT
On the PCT
On the PCT
I reached the side trail to Foster Pt. & decided to check it out as I hadn't been there before.
Side trail to Foster Pt.
Side trail to Foster Pt.
Foster Pt.
Foster Pt.
Sign @ Foster Pt.
Sign @ Foster Pt.
I retraced my steps to the PCT & continued along.
Moving along...
Moving along...
When the PCT reached a point close to Pk. 5,958', I left the trail & bushwhacked over to the summit which was just a short distance away & not much higher up.
Summit register
Summit register
Summit views
Summit views
Summit views
Summit views
Summit views
Summit views