Forum Index > Trip Reports > Hamilton Mt, Little Beacon Rock and Beacon Rock 2018-11-17
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Bryan K
Shameless Peakbagger

Bryan K
Shameless Peakbagger
PostSat Nov 17, 2018 9:21 pm 
Today I headed down to the Columbia River Basin and stopped at Beacon Rock State Park. I've been eyeing Beacon Rock for many years. First stop though was Hamilton Mountain.
Trailhead map
Trailhead map
Hamilton Mountain
Hamilton Mountain
The air was chilly and the winds were whipping around pretty strong. This was going to be a cold day regardless of the air temp. The trail starts out very wide, much like Mt Si. There had been only one other car in the parking lot when I started on the trail.
Trail view
Trail view
Trail photo
Trail photo
I enjoyed the golden color as I gained elevation and then made my way back into the forest. In short time I made it to Hardy Falls and Pool of the Winds.
Pool of the Winds
Pool of the Winds
It was a very pretty scene as water raged down the mountainside.
View through trees
View through trees
As I ascended I got views which gave me a false sense of a nearby summit. Just as I'd get excited, I'd realize that I had much more to go. I found my wardrobe to be very frustrating as one moment I'd need my jacket due to the cold winds and 50' later I was too hot with it on and I'd start sweating. I'd remove my jacket and get really cold from the sweat evaporating. It was a constant battle as I journeyed further up the mountain. Finally I reached the summit of Hamilton and the views were pretty good.
View
View
DCIM\100GOPRO\GOPR2928.JPG
DCIM\100GOPRO\GOPR2928.JPG