Forum Index > Trail Talk > Olympic Coast Hike - Itinerary Too Aggressive?
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
bkiefer4

bkiefer4
PostThu Apr 18, 2019 6:46 am 
Hello! I'm new to NWHikers - thanks in advance to all those who provide insights and helpful feedback. In late June I will be spending 6 days in Olympic National Park with a couple of my buddies. For context, we spend ~1 week per year in the backcountry - last year Zion, year before Isle Royale, Voyageurs, etc. - so we are reasonably experienced hikers. In Olympic we plan to spend a few days on the coast and a few in the rain forest / alpine. On the coast we are planning to hike from the Shi Shi Beach trailhead to Rialto Beach, ~32.5 miles, in roughly 2.5 days. We have researched the tide tables and are fairly familiar with the limitations we will be working with in that regard. What I'm hoping to get feedback on is if we are being too aggressive in our itinerary; said differently, is our itinerary achievable [while allowing for a pleasant hike]. We tend to move pretty quickly and if we can average ~2.5 mph I believe we should be okay. The tides will allow us [I believe] to hike relatively unencumbered from 5:00am to 3:30pm daily. Realistically we will hike from 7:30/8:00 to 3:30 with minimal stop time. Our daily itinerary is as follows: June 21: Shi Shi trailhead to N. Ozette camp, 10 miles June 22: N. Ozette to Cedar Creek, 14 miles June 23: Cedar Creek to Rialto Beach, 8.5 miles The cause for my concern is findings in my research suggest that there are stretches where pace slows to a crawl due to boulder hopping and scrambling around and through other obstacles. If this type of hiking is pervasive on the trail, we might be setting ourselves up for failure, at least in the sense it would alter the 2nd half of our trip. Any thoughts on roughly what % of this hike would be of the "obstacle" nature? If it's 10%, I'm not too worried; if it's 30%+ then we might have a problem. Apologies for the novel. Again, m