Forum Index > Photography Talk > aperture and shutter speed
Previous :: Next Topic  
Author Message
iron
getting old



Joined: 10 Aug 2008
Posts: 6413 | TRs
Location: kenmore
iron
  Top

getting old
PostWed Oct 02, 2019 8:15 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
i have a nikon d800 (FF) that i found on sale for a great price.

nikkor f/2.8 lens 24-70.

i feel like it shoots slow for a given aperture. for example, i shot a picture of my laptop screen using shutter priority mode:
f/4.5 1/8s 100 ISO @ 24mm

laptop screen occupied my full viewfinder and is pretty bright. exposure came out as it should. yet, the 1/8s seems very slow to me. i have found this to be true at many settings, indoor and out. i end up with a lot of blurry kid pics because i normally shoot aperture mode because i like to control that element the most and don't bother with full M mode.

most indoor shots with decent light seem to be in the f/5 range with ISO at 5000 and the shutter speed is slow enough that i am getting blur. maybe user error. i dunno.

any thoughts?

--------------
man, you go through life, you try to be nice to people, you struggle to resist the urge to punch 'em in the face, and for what?

--- moe sizlack
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
Bosterson
Member
Member


Joined: 12 Sep 2019
Posts: 38 | TRs
Location: Portland
Bosterson
  Top

Member
PostWed Oct 02, 2019 8:42 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
Trying to parse your question... The D800 "shoots slow" for an aperture, but you think the exposure is correct. Exposure is exposure, and there are only 3 elements of it: shutter speed, aperture, and ISO. So it sounds like what's happening is you feel like the camera is choosing too slow of a shutter speed for the exposure combination you want. I'm not familiar with that camera specifically, but check the Auto ISO settings. Is it limited to a low ISO cap, causing it to choose slow shutter speeds indoors? Not sure what you mean by indoor shots seeming "to be in the f/5 range" using aperture priority - you are controlling the f-stop. There is shockingly little light indoors (inverse square law, and a light bulb is waaaay less bright than the sun). Being able to take good photos at ISO 5000 is like living in the future - this was not possible with film. If you're getting blur at ISO 5000, try using a larger aperture than f/5. Blur (motion? camera shake?) is possible or likely at a shutter speeds less than 1/focal length, so if you're shooting < 1/25th at the wide end on that lens, you could still have a fuzzy picture, especially if your subject is moving or you don't have a steady hand or are not holding the camera solidly. (Brace your left elbow against your chest to support the lens-support arm if you're shooting at low speeds. Hit the shutter while exhaling.) But for your laptop screen pic, that exposure combination seems very reasonable - ISO 100 is not fast at all, and you were shooting at f/4.5, so 1/8th seems reasonable. Try putting the camera into full program mode for a while and see if it behaves differently. Ultimately, if the exposure looks correct, then if your shutter speeds are too low it's an issue with the exposure settings. Outdoor light notwithstanding, if you're getting too much camera shake indoors and don't want to go to high ISOs (5000 is "high"), get a stabilized lens. There's a reason people photos indoors are (prior to phones and software-based photography) traditionally shot with flash.

Edit: postscript: reread your post - you shot the laptop screen in shutter priority? So you chose 1/8th, not the camera...?

--------------
We must move forward, not backward; upward, not forward; and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
kite
Member
Member


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 1357 | TRs
Location: Olympia
kite
  Top

Member
PostThu Oct 03, 2019 6:40 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
do you know what metering mode the camera is set to right now? you have Spot, Center Weighted and Matrix. these along with the ISO settings can really affect the shutter speed. is your 28-70 a newer version with image stabilization?
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
iron
getting old



Joined: 10 Aug 2008
Posts: 6413 | TRs
Location: kenmore
iron
  Top

getting old
PostThu Oct 03, 2019 8:40 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
i think i'm center weighted. will check tonight.

24-70 is new, with IS

--------------
man, you go through life, you try to be nice to people, you struggle to resist the urge to punch 'em in the face, and for what?

--- moe sizlack
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
kite
Member
Member


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 1357 | TRs
Location: Olympia
kite
  Top

Member
PostThu Oct 03, 2019 4:41 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
try using Matrix and ISO around 400
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
Bowregard
Member
Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2019
Posts: 9 | TRs
Location: Sammamish
Bowregard
  Top

Member
PostFri Oct 04, 2019 1:18 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
I think Bosterson has the right idea. I had the same issue but with a different camera. I like to control depth of field most so of course AE is the best way to do that but my shots would end up blurry because the camera picked a slow shutter speed and low ISO. In my case switching to AE mode defaulted the camera to the lowest ISO and until I changed that setting I was stuck with a low shutter speed. I bet you are seeing the same thing. Of course kicking up the ISO is not easy to do if you are overly worried about image quality like me smile.gif
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
iron
getting old



Joined: 10 Aug 2008
Posts: 6413 | TRs
Location: kenmore
iron
  Top

getting old
PostFri Oct 04, 2019 1:42 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
one thing i don't understand is why the camera doesn't auto adjust the ISO upward to get to more reasonable shutter speeds. i see there is a setting in the menu that allows it to have a cap on the shutter speed (1/focal length), but so far, it doesn't seem like that matters. it basically keeps ISO 100, then you end up with f/2.8 and whatever shutter speed necessary. maybe i need to do more reading on how the camera is supposed to work in these regards. probably too much camera for me. never had this issue with a d70.

--------------
man, you go through life, you try to be nice to people, you struggle to resist the urge to punch 'em in the face, and for what?

--- moe sizlack
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
gb
Member
Member


Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 5215 | TRs

gb
  Top

Member
PostFri Oct 04, 2019 3:14 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
I don't have a Nikon, but my experience is that you want to use aperture priority rather than shutter priority for landscape/flowers/nature - not birds or action sports.

Set the aperture for depth of field requirements - takes a bit of experience, check shutter speed on your screen or EVF, and adjust ISO only if you need to in order to maintain acceptable SS and good exposure. Although, on my camera I can use auto ISO, I generally don't, and instead set ISO according to sky conditions. This works well for me but can keep you moving in sun and cloud conditions.
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Reply to topic Reply with quote
kite
Member
Member


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 1357 | TRs
Location: Olympia
kite
  Top

Member
PostFri Oct 04, 2019 3:56 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
Iron

there is a Auto ISO setting it can be found in the shooting options menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
neek
Member
Member


Joined: 12 Sep 2011
Posts: 809 | TRs
Location: Seattle, WA
neek
  Top

Member
PostFri Oct 04, 2019 3:58 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
iron wrote:
one thing i don't understand is why the camera doesn't auto adjust the ISO upward to get to more reasonable shutter speeds. i see there is a setting in the menu that allows it to have a cap on the shutter speed (1/focal length), but so far, it doesn't seem like that matters. it basically keeps ISO 100, then you end up with f/2.8 and whatever shutter speed necessary. maybe i need to do more reading on how the camera is supposed to work in these regards. probably too much camera for me. never had this issue with a d70.

I very well could be missing something but a quick search for "d800 auto iso" shows where it is in the menu. Maybe it's on but "maximum sensitivity" somehow got set down to 100?

Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
iron
getting old



Joined: 10 Aug 2008
Posts: 6413 | TRs
Location: kenmore
iron
  Top

getting old
PostFri Oct 04, 2019 3:59 pm 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
yeah, i think i have it turned on.
you have to set min and max ISO, right?
camera seems to default to always maintaining min ISO possible.

--------------
man, you go through life, you try to be nice to people, you struggle to resist the urge to punch 'em in the face, and for what?

--- moe sizlack
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
kite
Member
Member


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 1357 | TRs
Location: Olympia
kite
  Top

Member
PostSat Oct 05, 2019 7:06 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
what I think you want is a minimum shutter speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
Backpacker Joe
NWH Joe-Bob



Joined: 16 Dec 2001
Posts: 23296 | TRs
Location: Cle Elum
Backpacker Joe
  Top

NWH Joe-Bob
PostSun Oct 06, 2019 6:25 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
Dude, you're trying to shoot a backlit display with a varying refresh rate!  Forget about it!  Its not a fare judging platform to begin with.  Your not shooting a fixed object.  Try shooting fixed objects at varying light levels using varying depths of field and shutter speeds before you judge.

--------------
"If destruction be our lot we must ourselves be its author and finisher. As a nation of freemen we must live through all time or die by suicide."

Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
Bedivere
Why Do Witches Burn?



Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Posts: 7270 | TRs
Location: The Hermitage
Bedivere
  Top

Why Do Witches Burn?
PostWed Nov 06, 2019 1:34 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
Auto ISO for indoor shooting is the way to go.  I also shoot mainly in Aperture Priority.

For indoor shooting of people I'll choose a minimum shutter speed around 1/30-1/40 and maximum ISO of 6400 in the Auto ISO menu.  I also open the aperture all the way.  I almost always shoot with a 16-85 f3.5-5.6.  For band shoots in clubs I'll rent a faster prime lens such as a 24mm f1.4 and shoot at f2.8.

The camera will always choose the lowest ISO that allows it to use the minimum shutter speed, which gives you maximum image quality. (least noise).

If conditions are dark enough that maximum ISO at the minimum shutter speed won't produce a proper exposure then the camera will override the minimum shutter speed setting and shoot slower.

If you want to lock in both shutter speed and aperture then turn on the auto ISO and set the camera to Manual mode.  The camera will then vary the ISO to achieve proper exposure.

Indoor shooting can be tough.  It takes a very well lit room to be able to get good exposures at lower ISOs.

--------------
Photo Portfolio
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
iron
getting old



Joined: 10 Aug 2008
Posts: 6413 | TRs
Location: kenmore
iron
  Top

getting old
PostWed Nov 06, 2019 10:15 am 
Reply to topic Reply with quote
i must be doing something wrong with my ISO settings.

i originally had max set to 6400, and then everything shot at 6400.

--------------
man, you go through life, you try to be nice to people, you struggle to resist the urge to punch 'em in the face, and for what?

--- moe sizlack
Back to top
View user's profile Search for posts by this user Send private message Send e-mail Reply to topic Reply with quote
  Display:     All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Forum Index > Photography Talk > aperture and shutter speed
  Happy Birthday JVT!
Jump to:   
Search this topic:

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
   Use Disclaimer Powered by phpBB Privacy Policy