Forum Index > Trail Talk > Favorite scrambles.
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
SwitchbackFisher
Boot buster

SwitchbackFisher
Boot buster
PostWed Jun 24, 2020 12:15 pm 
Kinda new to this scrambling thing, I have been doing them for a few years and not very frequently looking for some good ideas. Being in looking for scrambles I'm looking for no rope required routes. Right now my favorite that I've done is Kloochman rock. Also random question what the heck makes a scramble? I've seen some people call Mt Adams south a scramble. Id say it's a steep hike requiring an ice axe and crampons for safety, but as I said I'm new to this. I have Washington scrambles by Peggy Goldman but it's hard to tell what class they are based on here 1-5 skill level scale.

I may not be the smartest, I may not be the strongest, but I don't want to be. I only want to be the best I can be.
Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
awilsondc

awilsondc
PostWed Jun 24, 2020 12:28 pm 
To me, scrambling involves off trail steep terrain often requiring the use of your hands. Class 3 and 4 primarily although some class 2 would probably be considered scrambling. Some of my favorites are Red Mountain (snoqualmie), Hibox, Mount Thomson, Del Campo (a classic) and Gothic, Vesper Peak (mostly class 2), North Twin and South Twin (some of the best rock in the state), Columbia Peak, Mount Stone, The Brothers, Mount Constance, Cashmere, Columbia Peak, Ragged Ridge, anything in The Pickets (West McMillan Spire, Luna) and my personal favorite Mount Stuart via Ulrich's Couloir.

Jake Robinson

Jake Robinson
PostWed Jun 24, 2020 12:41 pm