Forum Index > Trip Reports > Kit Carson Mountain via The Prow Route - Colorado 14er Finisher
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Matt Lemke
High on the Outdoors

Matt Lemke
High on the Outdoors
PostSun Aug 23, 2020 7:57 pm 
Note: Apologies for the out of state posting...but NWH has the best trip report generating editor of all sites on the internet. Despite the horribly smoke air we have been having here in Colorado, my current roommate and I wanted to climb The Prow route up Kit Carson Mountain. Kit Carson is a large mountain in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains in southern Colorado, and sits just across the more famous Crestone Peak. This was my final Colorado 14er, which finished the Colorado portion of a low priority quest for me to finish all the 14ers in the CONUS. I started my first 14er during my very first semester in College back in September of 2008, but didn't get the chance to finish all 58 of them before I graduated in 2012. After that, I left Colorado and didn't really come back until fall of 2019. Kit Carson actually has given me some grief over the years, and I have three attempts where I tried to reach its summit all be foiled due to the prescance of snow when I was much less expereinced travelling over steep snow. Twice, I scrambled up to the top of Chellenger Point, which is the peak next to Kit Carson, and didn't reach Kit Carsons summit due to snow covering the Kit Carson Avenue. These attempts were back in 2011. These days I wouldn't have thought anything of it, but I had much lower limits on what I was comfortable with back then. Then, in May of 2012 I ascended Humboldt and Columbia Point, but was not comfortable making the traverse to Kit Carson due to snow and ice covering the steep class 3-4 scramble down from Columbia Point. So alas, I never got around to finishing Kit Carson before I left Colorado for good in June 2012. Yesterday, the time had finally arrived for me to finish. I was never in a hurry to complete the 14ers, and I always pu