Forum Index > Trail Talk > backcountry cabins
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
smp77

smp77
PostWed Aug 26, 2020 11:06 am 
I'm looking for recommendations for backcountry structures that could potentially be used as a shelter (or that are just really cool hiking destinations) - fire lookouts, old mining huts, abandoned cabins, etc. So far I've visited a few lookouts and Tungsten Mine and am planning a few more day hikes and backpacking trips. I have a degree in historical archaeology so finding signs of past human occupation and activity in the wilderness lets me combine my love of hiking and my love of people's old stuff.

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
Randito
Snarky Member

Randito
Snarky Member
PostWed Aug 26, 2020 11:25 am 
In the states not so much. In Britsh Columbia there are numerous huts built and maintained by the Alpine Club Of Canada, University of Vancouver Varsity Outdoor Club, BC parks as well as numerous privately built and maintained huts. In the states Wilderness areas building new structures is against federal regulations and maintenance of existing structures is haphazard. Outside of wilderness areas there are a few, Mt Tahoma Trails huts, Rendezvous Huts, Scottish Lakes and a yurt used by North Cascades Helicopter Skiing. Those are all primarily skiing oriented. In Oregon there are Wing Ridge Huts and Wallowa Alpine Huts. Again ski oriented. Most historic structures have collapsed at this point from the heavy snowfall in the cascades.

Cyclopath
Faster than light

Cyclopath
Faster than light
PostWed Aug 26, 2020 12:25 pm 
Have you been to the Pasayten airfield? Pretty cool, might interest you in that it comes from a time when air travel was much simpler, and that who built it is lost to history. Desolation Lookout was a very cool hike. Unbeatable scenery, incredible solitude, a fun journey in, and it's where Kerouac lost his mind.

treeswarper
Alleged Sockpuppet!

treeswarper
Alleged Sockpuppet!