Forum Index > Trip Reports > Mt Olympus Circumnavigation
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Jeff List

Jeff List
PostThu Sep 24, 2020 11:55 am 
From September 19-22 I did a Mt. Olympus circumnavigation, via a non-technical, no-glacier route. I’ve been piecing this together for seven years, and it finally came together in a narrow window between the heat, smoke, and the now-raging un-fordable rivers. A full report will follow, but here’s a brief summary. Day 1: Started at the Hoh River Trailhead, up trail for about 2 miles, forded the Hoh River, up Mt. Tom Creek for about 4 miles to an elevation around 1110’, up and over the divide to the S. Fork Hoh River, up the S. Fork for about 3 miles, and camped. Day 2: Continued up the S. Fork another 3 miles to an elevation of about 2700’, up and over the divide to the Queets River, up the Queets River less than a mile to an elevation of about 1240’, up to Lake Beauty to camp. Day 3: Lake Beauty Trail, Skyline Trail, Elwha River Trail, Dodger Point Primitive Trail, then out the Dodger Point to Mount Ferry route to camp at the Scott-Ludden Saddle. Day 4: Continued on the Dodger Point to Mount Ferry route to connect to the Bailey Range Traverse, down to Cream Lake, northwest on the Bailey Range Traverse, High Divide Trail, Hoh Lake Trail, and the Hoh River Trail to finish at the trailhead.

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
Felpudo

Felpudo
PostThu Sep 24, 2020 4:18 pm 
Cool!

meck

meck
PostThu Sep 24, 2020 5:15 pm 
Yowsers, what a neat trip & loop! Looking forward to the photos of the offtrail and river sections. I'd heard about the Queets to Lake Beauty ridge portion, but some of those other sections sound very interesting.

*Just say NO to Rent-Seeking, don't give up the concept of "ownership"*
Fullripbrian

Fullripbrian
PostThu Sep 24, 2020 6:23 pm 
Looking forward to the full report. Looks like a tremendous route!

RAW-dad

RAW-dad
PostThu Sep 24, 2020 6:24 pm