Forum Index > Gear Talk > Packing Internal Frame packs
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Brian

Brian
PostSun Aug 11, 2002 11:17 pm 
I'm new to the whole internal scene with my lowe alpine alpamayo pack, and haven't figured out the best way to carry a tent. what I've been doing is putting it right in the middle of the pack and putting everything else around it. It doesn't quite work with a cookset. What's your method of packing when you have all the gear in your pack, or when you backpack solo? Thanks Brian

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote View IP address of poster
catwoman

catwoman
PostMon Aug 12, 2002 8:54 am 
I certainly don't claim to be a great packer, but what I do is put the poles down one side (inside pack). Then the big part - the tent is flexible. I then put it in my pack on top inside the pack (it's about the first thing I want to take out when I find camp) - curving it around kind of like a horseshoe. It's the first thing I want to set up and the last thing I want to pack, so it works out pretty well for me that way. However, another way you could do it is keep the poles and tent together and put it horizontally between the top part of the pack and the mid section, with the ends poking out the sides and the straps that normally close the pack keeping it in place.

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
Brian

Brian
PostMon Aug 12, 2002 1:18 pm 
Thank you.
You know what is ridiculous? It never dawned on me to separate the poles from the tent! What a concept! Thanks, that's all I needed to know smile.gif Brian

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote View IP address of poster
catwoman

catwoman
PostMon Aug 12, 2002 7:13 pm 
Glad I could help! smile.gif

Allison
Feckless Swooner

Allison
Feckless Swooner
PostTue Aug 13, 2002 2:57 pm