Forum Index > Gear Talk > Local GPS waypoint database
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic

Would you be interested in using a local GPS waypoint database?
Yes
66%
 66%  [ 8 ]
No
16%
 16%  [ 2 ]
I'm confused
16%
 16%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 12

Steve
Phlogiston Purveyor

Steve
Phlogiston Purveyor
PostThu Sep 19, 2002 7:34 am 
Are you talking about waypoints for specific things such as airplane crash sites or trails that would not be on any ordinary gps map program? As it is right now I have two map programs (which would be worthless in New Zealand) that I get my waypoints off of and don't need a database to draw from for normal trails.

Despair is only for those who see the end beyond all doubt.
Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
Dante

Dante
PostThu Sep 19, 2002 7:52 am 
Do you have a WAAS capable unit, Steve. I'm just beginning my GPS research (not an early adopter) and remember reading that you can not turn off the WAAS/EGNOS capability on some units, which can cause problems in some places (they gave Australia as an example). I'd be interested in some datum (e.g. places to jump off the trail for cross country routes) but not others (e.g. crash sites, cabins, etc.)

Steve
Phlogiston Purveyor

Steve
Phlogiston Purveyor
PostWed Sep 25, 2002 1:21 pm 
I have the Magellan Meridian. It has WAAS capability but I'm not sure if it can be turned off or not. What kind of problems are you referring to around Australia and WAAS?

Despair is only for those who see the end beyond all doubt.
Dante

Dante
PostWed Sep 25, 2002 2:07 pm 
Sorry I can't be much more specific. It was something I saw over at www.joe.mehaffey.com but I didn't focus on it because it did not apply to me. I think some WAAS/EGNOS receivers keep lookig for the WAAS/EGNOS sattelites even if they can not see them because you are on the wrong part of the planet.

tk-421
Dead Weight

tk-421
Dead Weight
PostWed Sep 25, 2002 2:10 pm 
WAAS and Oz
Jack Yeazel wrote: