Forum Index > Photography Talk > best SLR cameras for backpacking
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
tgc

tgc
PostTue Apr 08, 2003 5:01 pm 
I'm thinking of buying an SLR camera for shooting some photos in the backcountry. I have about $300 to spend on the body, lense, and accessories. Anyone have a favorite SLR that they would recommend? I don't mind if it's an older model (in fact I'd prefer it - I don't want the camera to do EVERYTHING for me)? I should mention that I'm a beginner, so I don't need the most complex features. I'd love to hear what other people use for backcountry photography. Thanks.

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
Larry

Larry
PostTue Apr 08, 2003 5:08 pm 
TGC. Pretty much any camera will do. The lens is what makes the most difference. Of course, I would look for a rugged construction on the camera body, maybe stick with the high end brands such as Canon and Nikon. You should try to get one that allows manual overrides on the shutter speed and f/stop. If you can get tele or wide angle lenses within your budget, great. But...you can do very well with a quality "standard" 50mm lens or so...the "standard" lenses are often overlooked in what they can provide for you. A lot of them can get quite close for macro type shots, but still have a fast speed for low light, and 50mm or so gives good depth of field. Make sure you get a tripod. Doesn't have to be fancy. There are a lot of good cameras out there now, on eBay and elsewhere. The prices are down due to the digital revolution. My 35mm is an old Canon AE-1. It's not a tank, but it certainly is not "chicken feed". A good basic camera with manual capability. Personally, I have had best luck with a REALLY old Yashica Mat twin lens reflex. The large negative scans well.

Larry

Larry
PostTue Apr 08, 2003 5:20 pm