Forum Index > Gear Talk > Compressing down - how bad is it?
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
mbtigger
Sherpa Da

mbtigger
Sherpa Da
PostSat May 21, 2011 3:41 pm 
I have a 20 degree feathered friends down bag that is almost 20 years old that I have stuffed but not compressed and I keep hanging in my closet when not in use. Still seems to have it's loft and can be be real warm in the summer time.... Last year I bought a Marmot 40 degree down bag on closeout from STP for (which my wife has made a nice coupler for!). But the stuff sack it came with was real loose. I was thinking of getting a compression sack for this. Thre is some argument out there about how bad compressing your down sleeping bag is, but I wonder how much and how long it takes to notice. Roughly How many times would people suspect I could compress my 40 degree bag before it no longer keeps me warm at 40 ?(ok - this assumes it keeps me warm at 40 NOW). If I can compress it a dozen times a year for many years before I notice, it might be worth it to compress the bag. Although since the FF bag is about 3x the price of the marmot bag I doubt I would ever feel comfortable compressing that one...

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
Slugman
It’s a Slugfest!

Slugman
It’s a Slugfest!
PostSat May 21, 2011 4:23 pm 
I never fully compress down. I'm not sure it helps, but I do have a 35 year old sleeping bag that's as lofty as the day I got it (mid-70's, from EMS). And it was my everyday bag until a couple of years ago. I put my bag in the bottom of my pack, and let the stuff I put in after compress it as much as needs to happen. That also means it's never compressed more than it needs to be. I'm sure there are others far more knowledgeable than I am, so I'm also curious as to what they will say.

Riverside Laker

Riverside Laker
PostSat May 21, 2011 9:17 pm 
Feathered Friends is pretty knowledgeable about down sleeping bags. You can contact them at (206) 292-2210.