Forum Index > Trail Talk > Seeking Advice for North Cascades Route
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
RobfromFLA

RobfromFLA
PostWed Jun 29, 2022 9:21 am 
Hi all! I am planning a solo backpacking trip that could last 3-5 days and traverse up to 80ish miles. I have some backpacking experience but have mostly done guided expeditions (baker, Rainier). One of my favorite hikes to this day is Cascade Pass still and I'd love to do some more exploring of the North Cascades Nat'l Park. Any and all suggestions are welcome smile.gif 🙏

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
RobfromFLA

RobfromFLA
PostWed Jun 29, 2022 9:29 am 
I am also exploring mixing in boat-in camping on Ross Lake

Cyclopath
Faster than light

Cyclopath
Faster than light
PostWed Jun 29, 2022 9:45 am 
Boat in camping on Ross Lake is by permit only, and permits are extremely competitive. We've changed our permitting system, the last times I camped on the lake I had to be in line at the Wilderness Info Center half an hour before they opened to get a permit. If that doesn't work out, there are hiker camps too, not right on the site but some are close. You could use the water taxi instead of renting a boat.

jaysway

jaysway
PostWed Jun 29, 2022 2:45 pm 
This would be more in the 50-60 mile range, but one fun idea could be to take a water taxi to the Hozomeen Campground and then take the Hozomeen to Lightning Creek to East Bank Trail, and then at Devil's Creek do most of the Devil's Dome Loop all the way to the Happy Panther Trail back to your car. You could extend the trip by doing a side trip to Desolation Peak or Crater Lake/Lookout. I haven't done any of the above, but on paper it sounds like a fun adventure. I would be surprised if you couldn't get campsites between Hozomeen and Lightning Creek since those are off of Ross Lake and fairly remote, and once you fork off at Devil's Creek it isn't long before you are on USFS land.

Foist
Sultan of Sweat

Foist
Sultan of Sweat