Forum Index > Full Moon Saloon > Electric lawnmower
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Joey
verrry senior member

Joey
verrry senior member
PostMon Oct 10, 2022 4:26 pm 
Anybody try one? Likes? Dislikes? Most of the lawn is done with a riding mower but there are a couple areas where, for one reason or another the rider is not the right tool. The standard gas mower I have been using for those areas has a lot of years and miles on it and is not self-propelled. I have been thinking of treating my 71 year old self to an upgrade.

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
neek

neek
PostMon Oct 10, 2022 7:44 pm 
I've been using a black and decker cmm1000 for about 20 years. Works great with a small yard. I abuse it too, throwing non-woody plant trimmings on the lawn and mulching them in. Can't get a blade anymore and it's very curvy so difficult to sharpen. Newer models of course use lithium rather than lead acid batteries but I've heard complaints of some of them not lasting long (like 10 minutes, which is crazy) so read reviews carefully. In general I'd default to battery electric with any power tool - mowers, string trimmers, pressure washers, leaf blowers, even chainsaws - unless there were some compelling reason to use gas, like you need to run it for hours at a time.

zephyr
aka friendly hiker

zephyr
aka friendly hiker
PostMon Oct 10, 2022 8:30 pm 
I got this one in May via Amazon. (they had a good price and I couldn't find it locally.) Greenworks 40V 16" Cordless Electric Lawn Mower, 4.0Ah Battery and Charger Included
I don't have much lawn and wanted to be able to cut around several small trees so I got the 16 inch. A neighbor and a good friend both had one and it helped sell me on this brand and model. I love it. Very lightweight and maneuverable. The charge lasts long enough for me with power to spare. ~z

Riverside Laker

Riverside Laker
PostMon Oct 10, 2022 9:00 pm