Forum Index > Gear Talk > Improving Bear Canisters
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
Evan_W

Evan_W
PostThu Dec 07, 2023 2:27 pm 
Hi all, I am an engineering student and am working on creating a better bear canister. Please fill out the survey attached to provide my group with some much needed info. Bear Canister Survey

Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
huron

huron
PostThu Dec 07, 2023 2:29 pm 
There's already lots of bear cannisters out there. Any other homework we can do for you?

Ski
Bernardo

Bernardo
PostThu Dec 07, 2023 3:38 pm 
Good luck with your studies Evan! Trying to improve a device sounds like a good idea.

zimmertr
TJ Zimmerman

zimmertr
TJ Zimmerman
PostThu Dec 07, 2023 7:11 pm 
I think more sizes could be useful. Rather than just "big", "medium", and "tall". I'd love a small and compact one that easily fits inside a small overnight pack, for example. Also, a pretty common complaint is how hard they are to open when your fingers are cold. Looks like your form captures that though so you're probably aware.
huron wrote:
There's already lots of bear cannisters out there. Any other homework we can do for you?
What a lame and unfriendly response.

Flickr | Strava

rossb, Navy salad, snowmonkey
Eric Hansen

Eric Hansen
PostThu Dec 07, 2023 8:30 pm 
Well said zimmertr Evan_W, thanks for your studies. Always good to ask if there is room for improvement

Off trail rambler

snowmonkey
huron

huron
PostThu Dec 07, 2023 8:53 pm 
zimmertr wrote:
Exactly. This is what the OP's inquiry deserves. The linked questions are a marketing survey. If the OP is truly a student trying to outsource coursework to a forum, ok I guess that's engineering alright. Social engineering. BareBoxer fits in a camelbak and holds a weekend's worth for solo.

zimmertr
TJ Zimmerman

zimmertr
TJ Zimmerman
PostThu Dec 07, 2023 9:04 pm 
When I was in school I had to do a similar project for my capstone. Methinks you're too fast to assume malice.