Forum Index > Gear Talk > Ultralight +15 Bag
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
snowmonkey

snowmonkey
PostSun Feb 25, 2024 7:31 am 
Looking to replace my 15 year old ultralight mummy. Considering all options incl blanket etc. # and comfort priority. Any solid advice for multi day use out there?

Ocian in view! O! The joy! William Clark
Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
HitTheTrail

HitTheTrail
PostSun Feb 25, 2024 10:58 am 
I have been using a Feathered Friends Tanager for a couple of years now. It is a 20* bag and comes in at around 20 oz. They are zipperless with a wide top that taper down to a mummy bottom so a large body hiker might find them a bit restrictive. But I love mine and find 20* is plenty warm and can be supplemented with a light down jacket and insulated pants (that I carry anyway) if it is very cold. The top opening has a nice drawstring that makes it easy to seal the warm air in and makes it easy to get into and out of even when you are restricted in a hammock like I usually am.

snowmonkey
InFlight
coated in DEET

InFlight
coated in DEET
PostSun Feb 25, 2024 11:31 am 
I use a Feathered Friends Flicker 20 degree. Can be used as everything between a blanket, quilt, or headless sleeping bag. Available in combinations of wide and tall. Ill just wear a fleece or down Bennie depending on temperature. Its is getting more cold both my R1 fleece and down sweater have hoods, so I can stay warm as mummy with without all the restrictions of the mummy when rolling over if youre a side sleeper.

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately... ― Henry David Thoreau

snowmonkey
Cyclopath
Faster than light

Cyclopath
Faster than light
PostSun Feb 25, 2024 12:19 pm 
InFlight wrote:
I use a Feathered Friends Flicker 20 degree.
This would be my choice too.

snowmonkey
HitTheTrail

HitTheTrail
PostSun Feb 25, 2024 4:18 pm 
InFlight wrote: