Forum Index > Trip Reports > Kautz Glacier, Mt. Rainier 7/9-7-11
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
dicey
custom title

dicey
custom title
PostTue Jul 13, 2004 7:12 pm 
I was planning on going into the Foss Lakes this weekend, but this trip got called off due to injury (amy's knee), so i got roped into doing Mt. Rainier with some friends who were planning on doing the Kautz glacier route - which i have never done before. the plan was to stay at the paradise inn-expensive eek.gif so we shoved the 6 of us into a 2person room. this turned out to be a mistake as we didn't get much sleep due to SOMEONE SNORING ALL NIGHT LONG!! so off we go in fog at 9:30 am. up to glacier vista, then down across the Nisqually Glacier (roped up), up a long narrow chute with many huge boulders strewn across the base eek.gif we continued up along the w. edge of the wilson glacier and then zigzagged up the turtle snowfield, finally calling camp at 6pm @ 10.4kft. There are many great bivy sites on the wapowety cleaver (i really like saying 'wapowety') and if we had been faster we would have found the deluxe accommodations higher, approx 11k and change, but, oh well. we crammed our 2 tents and 2 bivys into the spots we could find, melted snow for water and ate some dinner. the weather had cleared above 9k, and we could see a heavy cloud bank below. What would the weather have in store for us for the summit bid in the morning? we sacked out by 9 to get up at 1 eek.gif I didn't sleep at all- just waiting for the alarm to go off. finally, we are up and ready to go by 2am (or so)lotsa stars + the milky way!! avoiding camp hazard and the ice cliffs completely by ascending the wapowety to a reddish buttress and finding a fixed line and a handline down to the glacier avoiding unnecessary complications - we decided to go for it. we found the fixed line, set our own rope and rappelled to the glacier. from this point on, there was only up and up, tired from sleep depravation, more up, lots of intere