Forum Index > Partners > New to hiking
 Reply to topic
Previous :: Next Topic
BosnMate

BosnMate
PostSun Mar 11, 2012 10:05 pm 
Hey everyone, I'm new to hiking and new to this site. I was referred to NWH by a co-worker. I was wondering if anyone could suggest a few simple hikes to get started with around Granite Falls to Monroe area. I'm currently out of shape...which is why I want to start hiking. I'd like to get into shape. Also looking for anyone who would like a hiking partner, preferably a beginner like myself. Thank you.

"You can realize your dreams, accomplish you goals, and achieve success......but it means nothing unless you can inspire others to do the same"--Unknown
Back to top Reply to topic Reply with quote Send private message
Chief Joseph

Chief Joseph
PostSun Mar 11, 2012 10:55 pm 
Welcome to the site. I am pretty familiar with the Mt Loop Hwy area, I suggest The Old Robe trail, The Lime Kiln trail, Heather lake, Lake 22, and one I need to get too, The Boulder river trail west of Darrington.

Go placidly amid the noise and waste, and remember what comfort there may be in owning a piece thereof.
Hulksmash
Cleaning up.

Hulksmash
Cleaning up.
PostSun Mar 11, 2012 11:35 pm 
Boulder River, Old Robe, Lime Kiln defiantly on the to do list for out of shape beginners. Elevation gain is minimal. Heather Lake, and 22 have more elevation gain, might be more challenging despite considered "easy" trails. Also consider, lake 22 can be hazardous in certain winter conditions Don't for get the Centennial trail, and White Horse trail, Lord Hill. Wallace Falls is considered easy, however, some may find the climb adjacent to the falls difficult.

"Bears couldn't care less about us....we smell bad and don't taste too good. Bugs on the other hand see us as vending machines." - WetDog Albuterol! it's the 11th essential
puzzlr
Mid Fork Rocks

puzzlr
Mid Fork Rocks
PostMon Mar 12, 2012 12:27 am